Fabrics

Fabrics

Inner workings are not the only thing that make a Daniel Heer horsehair mattress extraordinary. The shape—the characteristic combination of rectangular form, soft edges, and rhythmic recesses—is too beautiful to conceal beneath a blanket or spread. Daniel Heer has liberated the mattress from its life in the shadows; it has emerged with coverings that can be personally selected from a variety of exquisite materials. Yet all these materials have one thing in common: they are natural, pure, genuine—and thus beautiful. And all are suitable to withstand the demands of a daybed, or a mattress for night-rest.

 

Ticking


This classic upholstery was developed in the 18th century especially for mattresses. Woven from pure cotton in Lancashire County, England, this material is sturdy, impermeable to any stray jutting horse hair from within the mattress—and always striped. Formerly seen merely as utilitarian, this simple and pure material need no longer remain hidden beneath bedding—its straightforward design is presentable just as well by day. Daniel Heer procures his ticking from this fabric’s only remaining weaver in the region, which is certified by Britain’s Soil Association using the Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS).

TWEED


Tweed: clò mòr in Gaelic, or “great cloth”. It is best known as premium suit fabric. Used as a cover fabric, however, it is strong both in structure and appearance. Horsehair mattresses in tweed have presence in a room, they make a visual statement that is expressed by a contradiction: the “roughness” of the material stands in stark contrast to the soft form of the mattress. Daniel Heer offers tweed as a cover fabric from either Scotland or Ireland. The classic, more famous Harris Tweed is woven on the Outer Hebrides off the west coast of Scotland. A manifesto guarantees its origin: “Tweed means a tweed has been hand-woven by the islanders at their homes in the Outer Hebrides, finished in the Outer Hebrides, and made from pure virgin wool dyed and spun in the Outer Hebrides.” Daniel Heer primarily uses Harris Tweed woven in traditional plaid. The interplay of lines and colours creates a vibrant yet invitingly comfortable impression for this fabric as cover material. And then there is the tweed from Donegal, Ireland, a fabric woven for centuries using yarn spun from premium virgin wool, and traversed by narrow wefts of colour. The blue of blueberry, the purple-red of fuchsia, or the green of Irish moss culminate in little neps that, far from getting lost in the overall effect of the material, give the fabric its vitality. As a result this Irish Tweed is an optically more subtle relative of the Harris Tweed, inferior in no way, and just as striking.

REMIX


Daniel Heer also offers the furniture upholstery Remix, conceived for Kvadrat by the Italian designer Giulio Ridolfo. This fabric has no pattern, yet yields optical finesse. It is composed of blended yarns in which each thread comprises three different colours. The result is a mélange that plays with light and form. The surface of the mattress comes alive; depending on how the light hits it, the colour changes along its bowings and recesses. The shifting light over the course of a day creates an effect that is ever-changing and always outstanding.

DENIM


No other fabric shapes our everyday lives as much as denim jeans. Daniel Heer works with the rugged indigo blue cotton textile from the White Oak Cone Mill in North Carolina. He uses it in two ways; the mattress can be upholstered to expose the denim’s indigo surface or its undyed underside. The first variant creates the same worn effect as with your favourite jeans: the edges and support surface become lighter, but the material remains dark blue in all of its recesses. The mattress thus changes over time, faithfully bearing its signs of use and aging with spirit.

DEERSKIN


Germany’s red deer is the source of the most noble of all suedes. Daniel Heer procures the skin locally from the Kolesch family tannery in the Schwäbische Oberland, where the same buffing methods have been used since the 18th century. The leather is limed with pure calcium lime, hung in the Biberach tanning brook to decalcify and then tanned with cod oil. After more than three hundred different treatment steps requiring more than a year, the leather is finally ready to use. Typically one side is then dyed, but Daniel Heer uses it in its unaltered form; he prefers to show the markings of life on the animal’s skin, especially those acquired by stags during the skirmishes of rutting season. There is a myth that a deer’s strength and bravery live on in those who wear its skin. A bed with a deerskin mattress is thus a magical place by day and night. It goes without saying that the antiseptic properties of a deerskin mattress provide exceptional hypo-allergenic conditions for your skin.

Horsehair

Bezugstoffe

Bezugstoffe

Das Besondere einer Rosshaarmatratze von Daniel Heer ist nicht nur ihr Innenleben. Ihre Form, die charakteristische Mischung aus elegantem Quader, weichen Kanten und rhythmischen Vertiefungen ist zu schön, um sie unter Bettwäsche oder Tagesdecken zu verbergen. Daniel Heer hat die Matratze aus ihrem Schattendasein befreit: Jetzt zeigt sie sich mit Bezügen, die aus einer Vielzahl an hochwertigsten Stoffen individuell gewählt werden können. Bei aller Unterschiedlichkeit haben diese Stoffe etwas gemein: Sie sind natürlich, rein, echt – und deshalb schön. Daniel Heer reist um die Welt, um die besten Produzenten für seine Matratzenbezüge zu finden. Alle Stoffe werden den Anforderungen eines Daybed ebenso gerecht wie denen eines Nachtlagers.

 

Ticking

Der Klassiker unter den Bezugsstoffen wurde im 18. Jahrhundert eigens für Matratzen entwickelt. Aus reiner Baumwolle in der englischen Grafschaft Lancashire gewebt, ist dieser Stoff fest, rosshaardicht – und immer gestreift. Einst nur als zweckmäßig angesehen, braucht sich dieser einfache und edle Stoff heute nicht mehr zu verstecken. Er kann sein ehrliches Design auch tagsüber zeigen. Daniel Heer bezieht ihn von der einzigen heute in dieser Region noch produzierenden Manufaktur, die von der britischen Soil Association mit dem GOTS (Global Organic Standard) zertifiziert ist.

Tweed

Tweed: gälisch Clo Mor das große Tuch. Man kennt Tweed als hochwertig gesponnenen Anzugstoff, der aus Schottland und Irland kommt. Als Bezugsstoff ist er nicht nur stark in seiner Qualität, sondern auch in seiner Optik. Mit Tweed bezogene Rosshaarmatratzen machen ein visuelles Statement im Raum, das auf einem Gegensatz beruht: Die „Rauheit“ des Stoffes kontrastiert zu der weichen Form der Matratze. Daniel Heer bietet Tweed als Bezugsstoffe aus beiden Ländern an. Der klassische und berühmtere Harris-Tweed wird auf den äußeren Hebriden vor der Westküste Schottlands gewebt. Ein Manifest garantiert seine Herkunft: „Tweed has been hand-woven by the islanders at their homes in the Outher Hebrides, finished in the Outer Hebrides, and made from pure virgine wool dyed and spun in the Outer Hebrides“. Daniel Heer verwendet hauptsächlich Harris Tweed, der in dem klassischen Plaid-Muster gewebt ist. Dessen Wechselspiel aus Linien und Farben ergibt einen visuell lebendigen und gleichzeitig behaglich wirkenden Bezugsstoff. Anders der Tweed, der aus dem irischen Donegal kommt: Hier verwendet Daniel Heer einen Stoff, der seit Jahrhunderten mit einem hochwertiges Schwurwollgarn gesponnen wird, das mit kleinen farbigen Einschüssen durchzogen ist. Das Blau der Blaubeere, das Lila-Rot der Fuchsie, das Grün des irischen Mooses tritt in kleinen „neps“ auf, die aus dem Gesamtbild des Stoffes nicht herausfallen, aber für seine große Lebendigkeit sorgen. So ist dieser irische Tweed ein optisch ruhigerer Verwandter, aber nicht weniger qualitäts- und wirkungsvoll.

Remix

Daniel Heer bietet den Möbelbezugsstoff Remix an, der von dem italienischen Designer Giulio Ridolfo für Kvadrat entworfen wurde. Dieser Stoff hat kein Muster, aber eine optische Raffinesse: Er besteht aus Mischgarnen, jeder Faden setzt sich aus drei verschiedenen Farben zusammen. So entsteht eine Melange, die mit Licht und Form spielt. Die Oberfläche der Matratze scheint zu leben; in ihren Wölbungen und Vertiefungen verändert sich die Farbe je nach Lichteinfall. Im Laufe des Tages zeigt sie sich bei wechselnder Helligkeit immer anders und immer schön.

Denim

Kein anderes Gewebe prägt unseren Alltag stärker als Jeansstoff. Daniel Heer arbeitet mit dem indigoblauen rohen Baumwollstoff aus der amerikanischen White Oak Cone Mill in North Carolina. Er verwendet ihn auf zwei Weisen: Die Matratze kann mit seiner indigoblauen Vorderseite oder seiner ungefärbten Rückseite bezogen werden. Entscheidet man sich für erstere Variante, entsteht derselbe Effekt wie bei der geliebten Jeans: Die Kanten und die Liegefläche werden heller, aber in den Vertiefungen bleibt der Stoff dunkelblau. So verändert sich die Matratze mit der Zeit, zeigt ehrlich ihre Gebrauchsspuren und altert lebendig.

Hirschleder

Das edelste aller Wildleder liefert der deutsche Rothirsch. Daniel Heer handelt lokal und bezieht es von der Gerberei der Familie Kolesch im Schwäbischen Oberland. Seit dem 18. Jahrhundert wird dort unverändert nach der altsämischen Methode gearbeitet: Das Leder wird mit reinem Weißkalk geäschert, dann in den Biberacher Gerberbach zum Entkalken gehängt und in Dorschtran gegerbt. Mehr als dreihundert verschiedene Arbeitsschritte und über ein Jahr später ist das Leder fertig zur Verarbeitung. Normalerweise wird es dann einseitig außen gefärbt, doch Daniel Heer verwendet es in seiner puren Erscheinung. Denn er möchte die Spuren zeigen, die das Leben auf der Tierhaut geschrieben hat: die Kämpfe der Hirsche in der Brunft. Der Mythos sagt, Kraft und Heldenmut der Tiere gehen auf den Träger seiner Haut über. So ist ein Bett mit einer Hirschledermatratze am Tage wie in der Nacht ein magischer Ort. Überflüssig zu sagen, dass eine Hirschledermatratze in ihrer antiseptischen Eigenschaft für beste Hautverträglichkeit sorgt.

Füllstoffe